Rarely do we quit smoking for health…

I had been smoking cigarettes for about 9 years before I decided to quit. I had several attempts before I figured out what would work for me, and I was surprised that the reasons it wasn’t for my health. I just read this article http://www.buzzle.com/articles/reasons-to-stop-smoking-why-should-you-quit-smoking.html and was surprised that many of these reasons were health related. I did not quit because  smoking is bad for my health. THe extreme warning on a pack of cigarettes does not deter from the millions of addicts’ desire to have another cigarette.

My reason for quitting was because I wanted to know myself, and every time I had a cigarette I was taking myself out of the game of life!  Through tracking every time I had a cigarette, I realized that most of the time it was because I was having a feeling – mad at someone, hurt by someone’s comment, needing a break, and even wanting to celebrate. But getting away to have a cigarette was actually squelching all these feelings, and I never got to know why I was feeling the way I was feeling. I just formed this habit that  kept me feeling wired, buzzed, and numb.

 I made my One Decision (see www.judithwright.com)  to know myself and to know what I was feeling. I realized that if I wanted to live a life of any meaning and significance, I had better be aware of what I was feeling from moment to moment. This is what I focused on, and using tools to help me quit smoking, I was able to do this with success.

The powerful decision I made to know myself worked better for me than worrying about getting cancer in the future. This is one of the moments in my life that I remember as a milestone in my growth and I also remember how difficult it was. If I made it through quitting, I can make it through anything.

If there are any people who have quit smoking, why did you do it? Is anyone with me in not doing it for health?

Leave a comment